Callisto, formerly Jonathan, is a literary journal featuring short fiction by self-identified queer writers from all across the LGBTQ spectrum. Callisto is published twice a year. 



 Callisto: A Queer Fiction Journal
ISSN: 2168-961X
Raymond Luczak, Editor

Issue 12, which is the rebranding of JONATHAN into CALLISTO, is coming soon and features artwork by the phenomenal Ingrid Baars.



The reading period for CALLISTO is now open and will remain so through September 30, 2016. Submit via Submittable

Issues Available in PAPERBACK 



JONATHAN ISSUE 01 – December 2012 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-30-7): features Daniel Nathan Terry, Paul Lisicky, Matthew R. Loney, Eric Norris, James Powers-Black, Chip Livingston, Philip Dean Walker, Ian Young, Reginald T. Jackson, and Wendell Ricketts.


JONATHAN ISSUE 02 – May 2013 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-43-7): features Steven Cordova, Aaron Hamburger, Telly McGaha, Andrew Demcak, Eric Nguyen, Michael Thomas Ford, Jonathan Vatner, Robert Smith, Kenneth Pobo, and Michael Carroll.

Jon 3

JONATHAN ISSUE 03 – September 2013 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-52-9): features Nathan Alling Long, Eric Karl Anderson, John M. Bonanni, Jon McDonald, Matt Dean, Mike Kaspar, Collin Kelley, Jeff Mann, Jonathan Sanford, and Lou Dellaguzzo.


JONATHAN ISSUE 04 – December 2013 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-62-8): features Bryan Castille, Gerard Cabrera, Louis Flint Ceci, James Powers-Black, Jonathan Mack, Timothy Carson, Cameron L. Mitchell, M.J. Arcangelini, Shaun Turner, James Cihlar, and Gregg Shapiro.


JONATHAN ISSUE 05 – May 2014 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-71-0): features Chuck Teixeira, Robby Nadler, Trebor Healey, Matt Dean, Lance Garland, R. Daniel Evans, Lewis DeSimone, Mitch Goldsmith, Arthur Durkee, and Jonathan Corcoran.

JONATHAN ISSUE 06 – September 2014 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-74-1): features Adam Bartley, Ian Young, Mike Kaspar, Jonathan Harper, Mark Ward, B.V. Marshall, Philip Dean Walker, Thomas Malcolm Ross, Andy Sinclair, and Juned Subhan.

JONATHAN ISSUE 07 – December 2014 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-85-7): features Mitch Kellaway, Wayne Courtois, Jorge Cino, Robert Siek, James Schwartz, Tom Hardin, Jae Christopher, Wes Funk, Reginald T. Jackson, Jerry L. Wheeler, Patrick Pink, and Gregory Gerard.


JONATHAN ISSUE 08 – May 2015 – (ISBN: 978-1-937420-94-9): features stories by David M. Lydon, Brad Windhauser, Kevin Shaw, Whittier Strong, Scott David, Jonathan Mack, Alex-Quan Pham, J. Scott Coatsworth, Charles McCrory, Peter Dubé, and Arthur Durkee, and cover art by Heyd Fontenot.

Jonathan Issue 09

JONATHAN ISSUE 09 – September 2015 – (ISBN: 978-1-943977-01-7): Issue 09 of Jonathan: A Journal of Queer Male Fiction features stories by Robert Patrick, Gregg Shapiro, Gerard Cabrera, Ken Shakin, Calvin Gimpelevich, Dale Corvino, Andrew L. Huerta, Robert Hyers, Philip Dean Walker, Brandon Taylor, Lewis Desimone, and Michael Alenyikov, with cover art by Andrew Bertke.

Jonathan 10

JONATHAN ISSUE 10 – December 2015 – (ISBN: 978-1-943977-01-7): Issue 10 of Jonathan: A Journal of Queer Male Fiction (and our last issue featuring only male-identified writers) features stories by Chuck Teixeira, CJ Southworth, Alex Vigue, Thomas Kearnes, Patrick Pink, Bill Mathis, Dennis Milam Bensie, John Whittier Treat, Gabriel Lampert, Jason K. Friedman, and Miah Jeffra, with cover art by Michael Guiang.

Jon 11

JONATHAN ISSUE 11 – March 2016 – (ISBN: 978-1-943977-13-0): Issue 11 of Jonathan, a journal of queer fiction, features stories by Lucy Jane Bledsoe, Norman Belanger, Ann McMan, Toranse Lowell, John Lugo-Trebble, Deborah Chava Singer, Arthur Durkee, Calvin Moen, Jocelynn Boettcher, George K. Ilsey, Kristen Ringman, Trebor Healey, and Barbara Ruth. Cover art for Issue 11 is by Stylo Starr. 


The Editor. Raymond Luczak is the author and editor of multiple books, including How to Kill Poetry (Sibling Rivalry Press, March 2013), Among the Leaves: Queer Male Poets on the Midwestern Experience (Squares & Rebels, October 2012), Road Work Ahead (Sibling Rivalry Press, 2011), and Mute (A Midsummer Night’s Press, 2010). His novel Men With Their Hands (Queer Mojo, 2009) won first place in the Project: QueerLit 2006 Contest. Most recently, he served as editor for QDA: A Queer Disability Anthology. []